IOWASTROKE TASK FORCE

BYLAWS

Charter

The Iowa State Stroke Task Force was created in 2005 as a joint effort of the Iowa Department of Public Health and the American Heart Association. The charter members were appointed by then Director Dr. Mary Mincer Hanson, and were given the mission to work collaboratively to improve stroke care in Iowa. Since that time, meetings have been open to anyone with an interest in our mission. Membership in the task force remained by invitation; however none of the membership requests have been denied. The word "State" was later dropped from the name to avoid confusion with Iowa State University.

Article I. Name

The name of the assembly shall be the Iowa Stroke Task Force, herein referred to as the Task Force.

Article II. Vision

The Iowa Stroke Task Force exists to assure that all Iowans receive standardized, timely, and appropriate stroke prevention, treatment and rehabilitation, regardless of location within the state, through provision of education and policy development.

Article III. Mission

The Task Force will serve to:

Guide and facilitate the development of a collaborative, inclusive statewide stroke care system.

Provide evidence-based practices that will guide prevention, acute care, recovery, and rehabilitation efforts to produce measurable improvements in outcomes.

BYLAWS



Article IV. Goals

- The Task Force will utilize evidence-based best practices for the development of education, treatment guidelines and policies.
- The Task Force will create and develop learning opportunities appropriate for different levels of expertise in stroke; from lay public bystanders to healthcare providers specializing in stroke care.
- The Task Force will promote standards of care for stroke patients to be used in various healthcare settings.
- The Task Force will establish a provider network of stroke Professionals.
- The Task Force will develop, implement, maintain and provide ongoing evaluation of a stroke system of care recommended for all lowa hospitals and statewide healthcare providers.

Article V. Membership

- Membership in the Task Force is open to anyone who has an interest in promoting the mission.
- Only active members that are current on their dues shall vote or hold office.
- Membership may be terminated by request of the member, or by vote of the quorum.

Article VI. Officers

- The officers of the Task Force shall consist of a Chair, Co-Chair, Secretary, Treasurer, and Membership Chair. The officer are elected by the active membership and conduct the business of the Task Force. Financial matters involving more than \$500.00 require approval of all officers.
- The Chair shall preside over all meetings of the Task Force,

IOWASTROKE TASK FORCE

BYLAWS

appoint committees, and appoint members to represent the Task Force at various meetings and associations that are related to the mission. In addition, the Chair shall perform such other duties as may be assigned to him/her by the Task Force. The Chair develops and distributes the meeting agenda.

- The Co-Chair shall perform all the duties of the Chair in his/her absence, and in addition, shall perform such other duties as may be assigned to him/her by the Task Force.
- The Secretary will attend and keep minutes of the meetings.
 Minutes will be distributed to the membership chair to attendees via electronic mail. Secretary will send minutes to webpage.
- The Treasurer will make financial reports, handle all money and make disbursements from the Task Force bank account. The Chair shall have the authority to authorize up to \$500 in Task Force expenses without a vote. This will be noted in the financial report at the following meeting.

Article VII. Dues

- Dues shall be paid annually, per member, at the amount set by the Task Force. Dues will be payable by first meeting of the year to treasurer.
- Changes in dues structure may be made as deemed necessary by the membership.
- Dues are to be used to fund organizational activities and promote the mission of the Task Force.

Article VIII. Meetings

- Meetings shall be quarterly on a date set by the officers, unless otherwise agreed to, or unless a special meeting is called by the Task Force Chair.
- Special meetings may be called by the Task Force Chair and shall be called by the Chair upon a written request of members of record equal to one-third (1/3) or more of the total number of members. Such written request is to state the purpose of the meeting and shall be delivered to the Chair.

IOWASTROKE TASK FORCE

BYLAWS

 Attendance is expected at the meetings. Absence of more than three meetings during the 2 year term will be considered resignation from the role of an active member of the Task Force. Electronic attendance is acceptable through media established by the Task Force. Representation can be sent in lieu of attendance when necessary.

Article IX. Voting

- A quorum shall consist of 50% plus one of the active members in the Task Force according to the records of the Membership Chair.
- Voting by proxy shall be allowed if directed through a board member. Proxy votes shall be submitted in writing to the respective board member. Members who have submitted a vote or representation by proxy in writing shall be counted as part of the quorum.

Article X. Elections

- Elections of officers shall be held at the 4th quarter meeting of the Task Force in the odd numbered years.
- The Chair shall appoint a nominating committee consisting of three (3) members to present a slate candidates for the offices of Chair, Co-Chair, Secretary, Treasurer, and Membership Chair.
- Nominations of officers shall be received from the floor at the 3rd quarter meeting, subsequent to a report from the nominating committee.
- The officers shall be elected by the voting members for a two year term. Terms of office shall commence in January of the even numbered year. The order of election shall be Chair, Co-Chair, Secretary, Treasurer, and Membership Chair.
- Vacancies in any of the elected offices shall be filled by election at any regular meeting of the Task Force. Persons elected shall fill the position only until the next regular election.

IOWASTROKE TASK FORCE

BYLAWS

Article XI. Committees

- Committees shall be established as needed to perform special functions of the Task Force.
- Committee appointments shall be made by the Task Force Chair.
- The Chairperson of each committee shall be appointed by the Task Force Chair.
- The Chairperson shall be responsible for the communication of his/her committee to the Task Force Chair.

Article XII. Amendments

Amendments to these articles may be made by a quorum vote, provided the proposed agreement has been submitted in writing to the membership at least fifteen (15) days prior to the meeting.

Article XIII. Dissolution of the Task Force

No part of the dues of the Task Force shall be used to the benefit of any member, officers of the Task Force or private individual. (except that reasonable compensation may be paid for services rendered to or for the Task Force); and no member, officer of the Task Force, or any private individual shall be entitled to share in the distribution of any of the assets on dissolution of the Task Force. Any assets remaining upon dissolution and liquidation of the Task Force shall be turned over to a healthcare related organization, selected by the membership.